Regulation of the Haverhill Board of Health
Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products

A. Statement of Purpose:

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases,
negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat;

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as
cocaine or heroin® and the Surgeon General found that nicotine exposure during adolescence, a critical window
for brain development, may have lasting adverse consequences for brain development,® and that it is addiction
to nicotine that keeps youth smoking past adolescence.*

Whereas a Federal District Court found that Phillip Morris, RJ Reynolds and other leading cigarette
manufacturers “spent billions of dollars every year on their marketing activities to encourage young people to
try and then continue purchasing their cigarette products to provide the replacement smokers they need to
survive” and that these companies were likely to continue targeting underage smokers®;

Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18, more than 90 percent
do so before leaving their teens, and more than 3.5 million middle and high school students smoke;$

Whereas 18.1 percent of current smokers aged <18 years reported that they usually directly purchased their
cigarettes from stores (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount store) or gas stations, and among 11"
grade males this rate was nearly 30 percent;’

Whereas the Institute of Medicine (IOM) concludes that raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco
products to 21 will likely reduce tobacco initiation, particularly among adolescents 15 — 17, which would
improve health across the lifespan and save lives®.

Whereas cigars and cigarillos, can be sold in a single “dose;” enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to
cigarettes; are available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are popular among youth®;
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Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the probability of male adolescent
cigar use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would reduce use by 3.4%';

Whereas 59% of high school smokers in Massachusetts have tried flavored cigarettes or flavored cigars and
25.6% of them are current flavored tobacco product users; 95.1 % of 12~ 17 year old youth who smoked cigars
reported smoking cigar brands that were flavored;'!

Whereas the Surgeon General found that exposure to tobacco marketing in stores and price discounting increase
youth smoking; 1

Whereas the federal Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTCA), enacted in 2009,
prohibited candy- and fruit-flavored cigarettes,'* largely becausc these flavored products were marketed to
youth and young adults,' and younger smokers were more likely to have tried these products than older
smokers'®, neither federal nor Massachusetts laws restrict sales of flavored non-cigarette tobacco products, such
as cigars, cigarillos, smokeless tobacco, hookah tobacco, and electronic devices and the nicotine solutions used
in these devices;

Whereas the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Surgeon General have stated that flavored
tobacco products are “starter” products that help establish smoking habits that can lead to long-term addiction;'®

Whereas the U.S. Surgeon General recognized in his 2014 report that a complementary strategy to assist in
eradicating tobacco related death and disease is for local governments to ban categories of products from retail

sale;!’
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Whereas the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has reported that the current use of electronic
cigareties, a product sold in dozens of flavors that appeal to youth, among middle and high school students
tripled from 2013 to 2014;!8

Whereas 5.8% of Massachusetts youth currently use e-cigarettes and 15.9% have tried them;!®

Whereas the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection has classified liquid nicotine in any
amount as an “acutely hazardous waste™;2®

Whereas in a lab analysis conducted by the FDA, electronic cigarette cartridges that were labeled as containing
no nicotine actually had low levels of nicotine present in all cartridges tested, except for one?!;

Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school
students in Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days is 10.8% in 2013; %

Whereas data from the National Youth Tobacco Survey indicate that more than two-fifths of U.S. middie and
high school smokers report using flavored little cigars or flavored cigarettes;?

Whereas the sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because these
products are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care institutions undermine efforts to
¢ducate patients on the safe and effective use of medication, including cessation medication,;

Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who is particularly at risk for
becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of educational
institutions that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health risks and harms;

Whereas the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court has held that “. . . [t]he right to engage in business must
yield to the paramount right of government to protect the public health by any rational means®?,

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Haverhill Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products.

B. Autherity:
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This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Haverhill Board of Health by
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 which states "Boards of health may make reasonable

health regulations".
C. Definitions:
For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings:

Adult only - retail tobacco store: An establishment that is not required to possess a retail food permit whose
primary purpose is to sell or offer for sale but not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia, in
which the sale of other products or offer of services is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons
under the minimum legal sales age is prohibited at all times, and which maintains a valid permit for the retail
sale of tobacco products as required by the Haverhill Board of Health.

Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in
part from tobacco that is designed to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers (regardless of
content) and not to be used by the consumer as a final product.

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the
manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment.

Characterizing flavor: A distinguishable taste or aroma, other than the taste or aroma of tobacco, menthol, mint
or wintergreen, imparted or detectable either prior to or during consumption of a tobacco product or component
part thereof, including, but not limited to, tastes or aromas relating to any fruit, chocolate, vanilla, honey, candy,
cocoa, dessert, alcoholic beverage, herb or spice; provided, however, that no tobacco product shall be
determined to have a characterizing flavor solely because of the provision of ingredient information or the use
of additives or flavorings that do not contribute to the distinguishable taste or aroma of the product.

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or
without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter

64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1.

Component part: Any element of a tobacco product, including, but not limited to, the tobacco, filter and paper,
but not including any constituent.

Constituent: Any ingredient, substance, chemical or compound, other than tobacco, water or reconstituted
tobacco sheet, that is added by the manufacturer to a tobacco product during the processing, manufacturing or
packaging of the tobacco product. Such term shall include a smoke constituent.

Coupon: Any card, paper, note, form, statement, ticket or other issue disiributed for commercial or promotional
purposes to be later surrendered by the bearer so as to receive an article, service or accommodation without
charge or at a discount price.

Distinguishable: Perceivable by either the sense of smell or taste.

Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical
institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education.
4




Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer.

Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals
that uses the services of one (1) or more employees.

Flavored tobacco product: Any tobacco product or component part thereof that contains a constituent that has
or produces a characterizing flavor. A public statement, claim or indicia made or disseminated by the
manufacturer of a tobacco product, or by any person authorized or permitted by the manufacturer to make or
disseminate public statements concerning such tobacco product, that such tobacco product has or produces a
characterizing flavor shall constitute presumptive evidence that the tobacco product is a flavored tobacco
product.

Health Care Institution: An individual, partnership, association, corporation or trust or any person or group of
persons that provides health care services and employs health care providers licensed, or subject to licensing, by
the Massachusetts Department of Public Health under M.G.L. c. 112 or a retail establishment that provides
pharmaceutical goods and services and is subject to the provisions of 247 CMR 6.00. Health care institutions
include, but are not limited to, hospitals, clinics, health centers, pharmacies, drug stores, doctor offices,
optician/optometrist offices and dentist offices.

Liquid Nicotine Container: A bottle or other vessel which contains nicotine in liquid or gel form, whether
combined with another substance or substances, for use in a tobacco product, as defined herein. The term does
not include a container containing nicotine in a cartridge that is sold, marketed, or intended for use in a tobacco
product, as defined herein, if the cartridge is prefilled and sealed by the manufacturer and not intended to be
opened by the consumer or retailer.

Listed or non-discounted price: The higher of the price listed for a tobacco product on its package or the price
listed on any related shelving, posting, advertising or display at the place where the tobacco product is sold or
offered for sale plus all applicable taxes if such taxes are not included in the state price, and before the
application of any discounts or coupons.

Minimum Legal Sales Age (MLSA): The age an individual must be before that individual can be sold a tobacco
product in the municipality.

Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYQ) Machine: A mechanical device made available for use (including to an
individual who produces cigars, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-your-own tobacco solely
for the individual's own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making cigarettes, cigars or other
tobacco products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely personal consumption are not Non-

Residential RYO machines.

Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products who applies for and receives
a tobacco product sales permit or any person who is required to apply for a Tobacco Product Sales Permit
pursuant to these regulations, or his or her business agent,

Person: Any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company or organization of any kind,
including but not limited to, an owner, operator, manager, proprietor or person in charge of any establishment,
business or retail store.




Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product, as defined herein,
without assistance from an employee or store personnel.

Schools: Public or private elementary or secondary schools.

Smoke Constituent: Any chemical or chemical compound in mainstream or sidestream tobacco smoke that
cither transfers from any component of the tobacco product to the smoke or that is formed by the combustion or
heating of tobacco, additives or other component of the tobacco product.

Smoking Bar: An establishment that primarily is engaged in the retail sale of tobacco products for consumption
by customers on the premises and is required by Mass. General Law Ch. 270, §22 to maintain a valid permit to
operate a smoking bar issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue. “Smoking bar” shall include, but
not be limited to, those establishments that are commonly known as “cigar bars” and “hookah bars”.

Tobacco Product: Any product containing, made, or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human
consumption, whether smoked, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed, or ingested by any other
means, including, but not limited to: cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, snuff; or
electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic pipes, electronic hookah, liquid nicotine, “e-liquids” or other
similar products, regardless of nicotine content, that rely on vaporization or acrosolization. “Tobacco product”
includes any component or part of a tobacco product. “Tobacco product” does not include any product that has
been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration either as a tobacco use cessation product or
for other medical purposes and which is being marketed and sold or prescribed solely for the approved purpose.

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or
any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes or any other tobacco products, as defined herein.

D. Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the Minimum Legal Sales Age Prohibited:

1. No person shall sell tobacco products or permit tobacco products, as defined herein, to be sold to a person
under the minimum legal sales age; or not being the individual's parent or legal guardian, give tobacco products,
as defined herein, to a person under the minimum legal sales age. Effective December 15, 2018, the minimum
legal sales age in Haverhill is 21.

2. Required Signage:

a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or
other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail. The
notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the
Haverhill Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted
conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it
may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly
face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or
greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to
sell tobacco products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other




place used to sell hand rolled cigars must display a warning about cigar consumption in a sign at least 50
square inches pursuant to 940 CMR 22.05 (2) (e).

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products, as defined
herein, at retail shall conspicuously post signage provided by the Haverhill Board of Health that
discloses current referral information about smoking cessation.

¢. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products that rely on
vaporization or aerosolization, as defined herein as “tobacco products™, at retail shall conspicuously post
a sign stating that “The sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, to someone under the minimum
legal sales age of 21 years is prohibited.” The notice shall be no smaller than 8.5 inches by 11 inches and
shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it may
be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly face
the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four (4) feet or
greater than nine (9) feet from the floor.

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco products, as defined herein, shall verify the age of
the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the bearer's date of
birth that the purchaser is 21 years old or older. Verification is required for any person under the age of 40.

4. All retail sales of tobacco products, as defined herein, must be face-to-face between the seller and the buyer
and occur at the permitted location.

E. Tobacco Product Sales Permit:

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco products, as defined herein, within the City of Haverhill
without first obtaining a Tobacco Product Sales Permit issued armually by the Haverhill Board of Health. Only
owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in Haverhill are eligible to apply for a permit
and sell tobacco products, as defined herein, at the specified location in Haverhill.

2. As part of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be provided with the
Haverhill regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has read said
regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing all employees who will be responsible for tobacco
product sales regarding federal, state and local laws regarding the sale of tobacco and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco products is required to provide proof of a current Tobacco Retailer License
issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue, when required by state law, before a Tobacco Product
Sales Permit can be issued. Applicant may be asked to provide evidence that a legitimate business transfer or
business purchase has taken place.

4. A separate permit, displayed conspicuously, is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco products,
as defined herein. The fee for which shall be determined by the Haverhill Board of Health annually.

5. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment that sells tobacco
products, as defined herein, must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless and until all
outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.




6. Issuance of a Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s consent to unannounced,
periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this regulation.

7. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to pay all fines issued and
the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or the permit holder has not satisfied any outstanding permit
suspensions.

8. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has sold a tobacco product to a
person under the MLSA (§D.1) three times within the previous permit year and the time period to appeal has
expired. The violator may request a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of the Violations section.

9, Maximum Number of Tobacco Product Sales Permits.

a. At any given time, there shall be no more than seventy (70) Tobacco Product Sales Permits issued in
Haverhill (reduced by the number of permits not renewed pursuant to subsection (b) below). No permit
tenewal will be denied based on the requirements of this subsection except any permit holder who has
failed to renew his or her permit within thirty (30) days of expiration will be treated as a first-time
permit applicant.

b. As of January 15, 2019 any permit not renewed either because a retailer no longer sells tobacco
products, as defined herein, or because a retailer closes the retail business, shall be returned to the
Haverhill Board of Health and shall be permanently retired by the Board of Health and the total
allowable number of Tobacco Product Sales Permits under paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the number
of the retired permits.

c. There shall be no more than four (4) Tobacco Sales Permits issued to Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Stores
in Haverhill as of January 15, 2019. No permit renewal by an Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store will be
denied based on the requirements of this subsection except any permit holder who has failed to renew
his or her permit within thirty (30) days of expiration will be treated as a first-time permit
applicant. New Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store applicants for permits who are applying at a time
when the maximum number of permits dedicated for Aduit-Only Retail Tobacco Stores have been
issued will be placed on a waiting list and will be eligible to apply for a permit on a “first-come, first-
served” basis as issued permits to Retail Tobacco Stores are either not renewed, revoked, or are returned
to the Board of Health. Applicants who purchase or acquire an existing Adult-Only Retail Tobacco
Store that holds a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit at the time of the sale or acquisition of said
business must apply within sixty (60) days of such sale or acquisition for the permit held by the Current
Permit Holder if the Applicant intends to operate as an Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store, as defined
herein.

d. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a public or private elementary or secondary school as measured by a straight line
from the nearest point of the property line of the school to the nearest point of the property line of the
site of the applicant’s business premises. A purchaser of a retail location whose owner currently holds a
tobacco sales permit shall not be considered a “new applicant” provided that the purchaser applies for
said permit within 60 days of purchase.




e. Applicants who purchase or acquire an existing business that holds a valid Tobacco Product Sales
Permit at the time of the sale or acquisition of said business must apply within sixty (60) days of such
sale or acquisition for the permit held by the current permit holder if the applicant intends to sell tobacco
products, as defined herein.

F. Cigar Sales Regulated:

1. No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed a single cigar unless such cigar is priced
for retail sale at two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) or more.

2. No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any original factory-wrapped package of
two or more cigars, unless such package is priced for retail sale at five dollars ($5.00) or more.

3. This Section shall not apply to a person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for
commercial purposes to another person or entity engaged in the business of selling or distributing cigars for
commercial purposes with the intent to sell or distribute outside the boundaries of Haverhill.

4. The Haverhill Board of Health may adjust from time to time the amounts specified in this Section to reflect
changes in the applicable Consumer Price Index by amendment of this regulation.

G. Sale of Flavored Tobacco Products Prohibited:

No person shall sell or distribute or cause to be sold or distributed any flavored tobacco product, except in
smoking bars and adult-only retail tobacco stores.

H. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps:

No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Haverhill, except in smoking bars and adult-only retail
tobacco stores.

I. Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption: No person shall:

1. Distribute or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products, as defined herein;

2. Accept or redeem, offer to accept or redeem, or cause or hire any person to accept or redeem or offer
to accept or redeem any coupon that provides any tobacco product, as defined herein, without charge or for
less than the listed or non-discounted price; or

3. Sell atobacco product, as defined herein, to consumers through any multi-pack discounts (e.g., "buy-two-
get-one-free™) or otherwise provide or distribute to consumers any tobacco product, as defined herein,
without charge or for less than the listed or non-discounted price in exchange for the purchase of any other
tobacco product.

4. Sections 2 and 3 shall not apply to products, such as cigarettes, for which there is a state law prohibiting
them from being sold as loss leaders and for which a minimum retail price is required by state law,
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J. Qut-of-Package Sales:

1. The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, in any form other than an original factory-
wrapped package is prohibited, including the repackaging or dispensing of any tobacco product, as defined
herein, for retail sale. No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed any
cigarette package that contains fewer than twenty (20} cigarettes, including single cigarettes.

2. A retailer of liquid nicotine containers must comply with the provisions of 310 CMR 30.000, and must
provide the Haverhill Board of Health with a written plan for disposal of said product, including disposal
plans for any breakage, spillage or expiration of the product.

3. All retailers must comply with 940 CMR 21.05 which reads: “It shall be an unfair or deceptive act or
practice for any person to sell or distribute nicotine in a liquid or gel substance in Massachusetts after March
15, 2016 unless the liquid or gel product is contained in a child-resistant package that, at a minimum, meets
the standard for special packaging as set forth in 15 U.S. C.§§1471 through 1476 and 16 CFR §1700 et,

Seq.”

K. Self-Service Displays:

All self-service displays of tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited. All humidors including, but not
limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked.

L. Vending Machines:

All vending machines containing tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited.

M. Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines:

All Non-Residential Rol-Your-Own machines are prohibited.

N. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Health Care Institutions:

No health care institution located in Haverhill shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products, as defined herein.
No retail establishment that operates or has a health care institution within it, such as a pharmacy,
optician/optometrist or drug store, shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products, as defined herein.

O. Prohibition of the Sale of Tobacco Products by Educational Institutions:

No educational institution located in Haverhill shall sell or cause to be sold tobacco products, as defined herein.
This includes all educational institutions as well as any retail establishments that operate on the property of an
educational institution.

P. Incorporation of Attorney General Regulation 940 CMR 21.00:
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The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, must comply with those provisions found at 940
CMR 21.00 (“Sale and Distribution of Cigarettes, Smokeless Tobacco Products, and Electronic Smoking
Devices in Massachusetts™),

Q. Violations:

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure
compliance with all sections of this regulation. The violator shall receive:

a. Inthe case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00).

b. Inthe case of a second violation within 24 months of the date of the current violation, a fine of two
hundred dollars ($200.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for seven (7)
consecutive business days.

c. Inthe case of three or more violations within a 24-month period, a fine of three hundred dollars
($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty (30) consecutive business
days.

d. In the case of four violations or repeated, egregious violations of this regulation within a 24-month
period, the Board of Health shall hold a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of this section and may
permanently revoke a Tobacco Product Sales Permit.

2. Failure to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the Tobacco
Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days.

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of
tobacco products while his or her permit is suspended shall be subject to the suspension of all Board of Health
issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days. Multiple tobacco product sales permit suspensions
shall not be served concurrently.

4. The Haverhill Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend or revoke a Tobacco Product
Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor and establish a time and date for a hearing which
date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder or its business agent
shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of Health's decision and
the reasons therefor in writing. After a hearing, the Haverhill Board of Health shall suspend or revoke the
Tobacco Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this regulation occurred. For
purposes of such suspensions, the Board shall make the determination notwithstanding any separate criminal or
non-criminal proceedings brought in court hereunder or under the Massachusetts General Laws for the same
offense. All tobacco products, as defined herein, shall be removed from the retail establishment upon
suspension or revocation of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit. Failure to remove all tobacco products, as
defined herein, shall constitute a separate violation of this regulation.

R. Non-Criminal Disposition:

Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition
as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D.
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S. Separate Violations: Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.

T. Enforcement:
Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Haverhill Board of Health or its designated agent(s).

Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursvant to the regulation may do so by contacting the
Haverhill Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate.

U. Severability:

If any provision of this regulation is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be affected
thereby but shall continue in full force and effect.

V. Effective Date:

Section D.1. concerning raising the minimum legal sales age for tobacco sales to the age of 21 shall take effect
on December 15, 2018.

All remaining sections of this regulation shall take effect on January 15, 2019.

Wil ool

Peter Carbone, Chairperson
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Alexander Matolesy, MD Board Member
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