ORGANIZATION for 2020

CITY OF HAVERHILL

JANUARY SIXTH, 2020

In accordance with the Charter of the City of Haverhill, the City Council assembled in the Nicholas J. Ross Auditorium at 10:00 o'clock A.M.

The meeting was called to order by the City Clerk.

The invocation was delivered by Father Christopher Wallace.

The City Clerk then read from the Record of Elections, by which it appeared that a City Election, held in the City on Tuesday, the FIFTH day of NOVEMBER A.D 2019, the following persons were duly elected as Mayor, Councillors and Members of the School Committee of the City of Haverhill.

To Wit:

MAYOR For the Term of TWO YEARS JAMES J. FIORENTINI

COUNCILLORS For the Term of TWO YEARS JOSEPH J. BEVILACQUA

JOHN A. MICHITSON
MELINDA E. BARRETT
COLIN F. LEPAGE
THOMAS J. SULLIVAN
TIMOTHY J. JORDAN
MICHAEL S. MCGONAGLE

MARY ELLEN DALY O'BRIEN

WILLIAM J. MACEK

SCHOOL COMMITTEE For the Term of FOUR YEARS GAIL M. SULLIVAN

SCOTT W. WOOD, JR. TONI A. SAPIENZA-DONAIS

The oath of office was then administered to the Mayor-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 6, 2020

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared JAMES J. FIORENTINI, Mayor-elect of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Lori Trahan U.S. Congresswoman

The oath of office was then administered to the Councillors-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 6, 2020

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared JOSEPH J. BEVILACQUA, JOHN A. MICHITSON, MELINDA E. BARRETT, COLIN F. LEPAGE, THOMAS J. SULLIVAN, TIMOTHY J. JORDAN, MICHAEL S. MCGONAGLE, MARY ELLEN DALY O'BRIEN, WILLIAM J. MACEK, Councillors-elect of the City of Haverhill and were duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

The oath of office was then administered to the School Committee-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 6, 2020

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared GAIL M. SULLIVAN, SCOTT W. WOOD, JR., TONI A. SAPIENZA-DONAIS, School Committee-elect of the City of Haverhill, and were duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

On motion of Councillor Barrett

VOTED: To proceed to organize the election of a President of the City Council.

FOR

Councillors Bevilacqua, Michitson, Barrett, LePage, Sullivan, Jordan, McGonagle, Daly O'Brien, Macek

VOTED: To proceed to the election of President of the City Council

On motion of Councillor Daly O'Brien

COUNCILLOR MELINDA E. BARRETT was nominated

On motion of Councillor Bevilacqua

COUNCILLOR JOSEPH J. BEVILACQUA was nominated

FOR COUNCILLOR BARRETT

Councillors Michitson, Barrett, LePage, Sullivan, Jordan, McGonagle, Daly O'Brien, Macek

8

FOR COUNCILLOR BEVILACQUA

Councillor Bevilacqua

1

The oath of office was then administered to President-elect Barrett as appears by the following certificate.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 6, 2020

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared MELINDA E. BARRETT, President-elect of the City Council of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

On motion of President Barrett

VOTED: To proceed to the election of a Vice President of the City Council

FOR COLIN F. LEPAGE

Councillors Bevilacqua, Michitson, LePage, Sullivan, Jordan, McGonagle, Daly O'Brien, Macek and President Barrett

9

COUNCILLOR COLIN F. LEPAGE was then declared elected.

The oath of office was then administered to the Vice President-elect as appears by the following certificate.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 6, 2020

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared COLIN F. LEPAGE, Vice President-elect of the City Council of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

Adjourned at 11:40 A.M. Attest:

Yeas 9

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk