ORGANIZATION for 2018

CITY OF HAVERHILL

JANUARY FIRST

In accordance with the Charter of the City of Haverhill, the City Council assembled in the Nicholas J. Ross Auditorium at 10:00 o'clock A.M.

The meeting was called to order by the City Clerk.

The invocation was delivered by Father Timothy E. Kearney.

The City Clerk then read from the Record of Elections, by which it appeared that a City Election, held in the City on Tuesday, the SEVENTH day of NOVEMBER A.D 2017, the following persons were duly elected as Mayor, Councillors and Members of the School Committee of the City of Haverhill.

To Wit:

MAYOR For the Term of TWO YEARS JAMES J. FIORENTINI

COUNCILLORS For the Term of TWO YEARS JOHN A. MICHITSON

THOMAS J. SULLIVAN JOSEPH J. BEVILACQUA MELINDA E. BARRETT COLIN F. LEPAGE TIMOTHY J. JORDAN ANDRES X. VARGAS WILLIAM J. MACEK

MARY ELLEN DALY O'BRIEN

SCHOOL COMMITTEE For the Term of FOUR YEARS PAUL A. MAGLIOCCHETTI

MAURA L. RYAN-CIARDIELLO

RICHARD J. ROSA

The oath of office was then administered to the Mayor-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared JAMES J. FIORENTINI, Mayor-elect of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me.

Karen Polito

Lieutenant Governor

The oath of office was then administered to the Councillors-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared JOHN A. MICHITSON, THOMAS E. SULLIVAN, JOSEPH J. BEVILACQUA, MELINDA E. BARRETT, COLIN F. LEPAGE, TIMOTHY J. JORDAN, WILLIAM J. MACEK, Councillors-elect of the City of Haverhill and were duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

The oath of office was then administered to the School Committee-elect as appears by the following certificate,

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared PAUL A. MAGLIOCHCHETTI AND RICHARD J. ROSA, School Committee-elect of the City of Haverhill, and were duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

On motion of Councillor Sullivan

VOTED: To proceed to the election of a President of the City Council

FOR JOHN A. MICHITSON

Councillors Michitson, Sullivan, Bevilacqua, Barrett, LePage, Jordan and Macek

7

The oath of office was then administered to the President-elect as appears by the following certificate.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared JOHN A. MICHITSON, President-elect of the City Council of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

On motion of Councillor Macek

VOTED: To proceed to the election of a Vice-President of the City Council

FOR

THOMAS J. SULLIVAN

Councillors Sullivan, Bevilacqua, Barrett, LePage, Jordan and Macek and President Michitson.

7

COUNCILLOR THOMAS J. SULLIVAN was then declared elected.

The oath of office was then administered to the Vice-President-elect as appears by the following certificate.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared THOMAS J. SULLIVAN, Vice-President-elect of the City Council of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk City Clerk Koutoulas announced that she had received a letter from Andres Vargas declining the office of City Councillor and read the letter into the record and declared the seat vacant.

On motion of Councillor Barrett

VOTED: To proceed to fill the vacant City Council seat.

Councillors Sullivan, Bevilacqua, Barrett, LePage, Jordan and Macek and President Michitson

7

On motion of Councillor Macek

VOTED: To elect Michael S. McGonagle

Councillors Sullivan, Bevilacqua, Barrett, LePage, Jordan and Macek and President Michitson 7

COUNCILLOR MICHAEL S. MCGONAGLE was then declared elected.

The oath of office was then administered to the Councillor-elect as appears by the following certificate.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

Haverhill, January 1, 2018

Essex S.S.

Then personally appeared MICHAEL S. MCGONAGLE Councillor-elect of the City Council of the City of Haverhill and was duly sworn to the faithful and impartial discharge of the duties of said office.

Before me,

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk

Benediction was then offered by Rabbi Zalman Borenstein

Adjourned at 11:32 A.M.

Yeas 8, Absent 1 (Daly O'Brien)

Attest:

Linda L. Koutoulas City Clerk